FSU and The Boys and Girls Club of the Big Bend

The Boys and Girls Club of the Big Bend needs volunteers, they need all the help they can get. What better people to be volunteers than the fantastic and smart students of one of the best universities in the entire country. What better people to be volunteers than young adults who just completed their childhood’s and can relate to being a child like the students at Florida State. From observing the children of the Boys and Girls Club during my volunteer service I noticed that what the children wanted more than anything was a friend. Also from observing I could tell the children would rather come up to my peers and I before they would go to a volunteer who were older than us.
The students of Florida State do lots for the community already with philanthropies and fundraisers like cancer walks and Cheers for Children. The Boys and Girls Club is an even easier way to be a volunteer. The Boys and Girls Club of the Big Bend is just a few miles away from Florida State’s main campus and is only a background check away from being able to volunteer. What else is different from other community service work done at Florida State is that you know exactly who you’re benefiting and how you’re helping them. When I do a walk for Cancer I donate money, run five kilometers and then the money goes to the organization intended to benefit. With the Boys and Girls Club you help right at the source. I know that I taught a third-grader, Isaac, how to do his math homework and must’ve went down the slide at least twenty-five times with the most energetic eight year old, Layla.
Meeting these kids made me feel horrible when I found out that about 80 of the 180 children would have their bus from school to the Boys and Girls Club, canceled due to budget cuts. I also felt horrible when I saw two stats saying fifty-seven percent of alumni said the club saved their life and that eighty percent of the children live in a single-parent home. I thought about the eighty children who wouldn’t be able to attend the club anymore and how some of them won’t have their lives saved by the club and how they don’t have a second parent to help them at all. This is why The Boys and Girls Club needs volunteers, and why they need volunteers now. The best and brightest volunteers needed to help out the Boys and Girls Club of the Big Bend are the students of Florida State, so get to signing up. GO NOLES

Leave a comment