The major I would like to study and

The major I would like to study and Florida State is Sports Management. Sports have always been my passion in life since I can remember. Since I was four I’ve played football, soccer, basketball, and baseball. Football is the sport that really caught my eye, it’s such a unique and strategic game that I would love to be part of. In Sports Management I would aspire to be in the managing office handling players and scouting other teams. This is a very hard job to get that requires that I start low and work my way to the top with a lot of patience. Before I chose Sports Management I wanted to be a Sports broadcaster, for preferably football and basketball. My senior year in high school I joined the Television Production class to get my broadcasting career a start. The year went horribly, our studio with all the equipment was under remodeling all year so we didn’t really have a class we would make videos days in advance and air them once a week. Then as a class in March we took a trip to Los Angeles for the Student Television Network convention. The convention was a blast until one night me and some of my classmates got caught walking around the hotel past curfew. My friend lied and said we weren’t part of the convention but they knew we were so thy decided we would be aiding the convention in setting up and breaking down sets and stages for the last two days there. This made me hate the thought of going into the television business and almost immediately I decided I would go into Sports Management. The field of Sports Management isn’t very broad so I’ll have to work hard to get what I want and I think at Florida State I will succeed in doing so.

2 thoughts on “The major I would like to study and

  1. Sports Management sounds like it could be a lot of fun for someone that is really interested in sports and understands them all… not me. When I was younger I played soccer and basketball, but I think that’s mostly because my parents forced me to do. I enjoyed it (I think), but that’s probably because I didn’t really know any better. Once I realized I could do what I wanted to do I got more involved in other things. In high school I was in the Journalism program and I always covered the different sports and took pictures at games. It was pretty cool because since I was considered press I was allowed to go on the field/court to take pictures. My favorite experience was definitely taking pictures on the football field during our homecoming game. I got some really great pictures of the game, the coaches screaming and the players goofing around on the bench. While I am not that interested in playing sports I really do enjoy writing about them and taking pictures. There is always so much action, which can sometimes make taking the pictures difficult, but I am always up for the challenge. Being a sports photographer really improved my photography skills… and even taught me a little bit about sports. I learned how to be in the right place at the right time to get the perfect picture. Sometimes I would work closely with the Television Production kids and I always heard stories about what was going on in their class. Some of my friends even went on that trip to Los Angeles and they said it was so much fun! Not everything will come easy, but as long as you never give up I think you would do great in Sports Management… a lot better then I would since I don’t like sports. Good luck!

  2. Sport Management sounds interesting, but I have to admit that I don’t know much about it. What sorts of careers does someone with a Sports Management degree pursue? Are you interested in working with a certain level of sports/athletics? Like high school? College? Professional? City rec sports?

    And, if you ever want to explore broadcasting again, you might check out the Editing, Writing, and Media major through the English Department: http://www.english.fsu.edu/ewm/ Just a thought!

Leave a comment