FSU challenges

This upcoming school year everything will be a challenge to me. My social life, health, grades, friends, stress, money, and exercise are all challenges that I’m already facing in the summer. The biggest problems I’ve had to face so far are handling money, my health, and my social life. I’ve learned very quickly that going out to bars and clubs five times a week can eat up my money pretty fast and that I won’t be able to do this during the fall with 4 classes. I think what I will do is limit myself to three nights a week, two weekend days and maybe some white trash on Wednesdays or Pots Purgatory on Thursdays. Going out also cost a lot of money, I somehow have found myself spending almost fifty dollars on some nights which can’t happen. I have a meal plan so I should never eat out to save money and when I do go out I want to limit myself to twenty dollars a night. Also I need to not be so tempted to buy girls drinks unless I know it’ll work in my favor for sure. As I write this blog I’m quite sick, it’s been the first time in over a year so it’s definitely Tally getting to me. Getting the right amount of sleep and having a healthy diet factor into my health which is hard adjusting to. Exercise is key too, playing baseball always kept me in shape but now I think I’ll have to work out about three times a week to stay fit and keep my body going. Some of my best friends are going to different schools in Oklahoma, Alabama and Indiana so I have to try to plan road trips to go see them on down weekends in Tally. Making adjustments will be hard but I have a lot of friends in Tally that should all watch out for me and make sure I’m making the right decisions as I will do for them.

2 thoughts on “FSU challenges

  1. I can relate to all of your challenges that you’re thinking you will have to face. I never bothered to think for a second about my diet or exercise, but I guess I will have to start closely monitoring that. When I was home, I would just sit at my kitchen table and a healthy meal was sitting in front of me three times a day. Also, with playing sports, I was essentially required to exercise because of practice and games. Managing money is going to be a problem for everyone during the first six months, I think it is going to take everyone some time before we finally get in to a routine of when, how, and where we will spend our money so that we can make t last a little longer. You probably shouldn’t go out so much like you said. I think everyone has their preference, but I think the best plan is find a night during the week that you don’t have much to do the next day. When people start going out every night, their grades usually start slipping (from what I have heard). But, if you can make it work, than all power to you. I was a sick a week ago, I think everyone I know has gotten sick during their time here. I’m not sure what it is, I’ve heard it is because of the mold in the dorms. That’s kind of disgusting but it sounds like a reasonable assumption. The farthest one of my friends is going to school is Southern Methodist in Texas. I really have no idea why these kids think going so far is a good idea, but I can guarantee you he will be back at a college in Florida within the next year. If you’re trying to save money, I don’t think making three road trips would be a very smart decision haha. I know what you mean by the looking out for each other kind of thing. I feel like me and my friends have the same deal.

  2. While I think it’s smart that you recognize the need to limit your “going out nights” during the Fall semester, I wonder if 3 times a week is still too much. It’s something you’ll have to figure out for yourself, but keep in mind that you’re at FSU to be a student…and if you can’t keep up the academic side, than the social side will disappear too.

Leave a comment